malaysia: sate ayam

One cannot be in this area of the world and miss out on some sate. Grilled up nicely with spices and served with a small bowl of amazing peanut sauce, this is one of my favourite dishes ever – I ate some every night I was in Kuala Lumpur, even when I was stuffed from dinner. I’ve had some less-than-perfect meat before, but I don’t think I’ve ever walked away from a sate place unhappy. How could you? All the best parts of what I like are here – meat, peanuts, cooking over a fire, easy to eat, portable. I want some right now. Most places in Malaysia and Indonesia have a little coal grill that they can take already-skewered pieces of meat and cook them up nice and fast. You can get your sate served on a plate, as we had in this picture, or on a banana leaf with these little squares that I think are made of rice. Somehow. Not too sure about that, but it’s tasty, whatever it is. The best part about it is how cheap it is – here in KL we paid about 20 cents US a stick, and I think it was even cheaper when we were in Indonesia. I’m going to eat as much as I can before we leave – I always miss this when I leave the -sia countries.

Leave a Reply

